About

Personal
I was born and raised in Treviso, in the Venetan mainland, Italy. I have a younger brother, two children, a bunch of dreams and more books than shelves. I love food, yoga, flowers, oversized pullovers, still wines, free diving and syntax…not necessarily in this order. I have a wonderful family of which I am very proud.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_328

image390

I used to be a professional volleyball player, but that’s another story…

Academic profile
I hold a BA in Lingue e Letterature Straniere and an MA in Theoretical Linguistics from the Università Ca’ Foscari Venezia (Italy). In 2017, I completed a Certificat de Spécialisation en Linguistique from the University of Geneva (Switzerland), where I also obtained my doctorate in General Linguistics in 2019. My doctoral dissertation on the morphosyntax of Romance interrogatives is freely downloadable here.

I am currently a researcher at the University of Cambridge, Department of Italian, and a College Research Associate at St. John’s College (UK).

RESEARCH PROJECTS
SNSF project n° 156160. Main investigators: Ur Shlonsky & Giuliano Bocci
SNSF project n° 184384. Main investigator: myself (see dedicated page, ‘TFSoInC’).

TEACHING EXPERIENCE
[1] Supervisor (University of Cambridge, UK, Faculty of Modern and Medieval Languages)
October 2019 – present
Classes: Li2 (‘Structures’); Li9 (‘Syntax’); CS1 (‘The Romance Languages’); IT10 (‘The Language of Italy’); IT1 (‘Use of Italian’).

[2] Teaching Assistant (Université de Genève, Switzerland, Faculté des Lettres, Département de linguistique) (with Ur Shlonsky)
February 2017 – June 2017
Classes: ‘La grammaire du Trévisien, parler de Vénétie’.
[3] Teacher of English (Mairie de Paris, France, Cours Municipaux d’Adultes)
September 2013 – June 2015
Classes: ‘Pre-intermediate English (A2/B1) for adults’; ‘English for adult beginners (A2)’.
[4] Teaching Assistant (Università Ca’ Foscari Venezia, Italy, Facoltà di Lingue e Letterature Straniere) (with Giuliana Giusti & Anna Cardinaletti)
January 2012 – May 2015
Classes: ‘Linguistique française (on-line and in presence)’; ‘English Language for beginners’; ‘English Language 1’.
[5] Linguistic tutor (Italian) (Laboratorio ITALS, Università Ca’ Foscari Venezia, Italy)
May 2009 – July 2009
Classes: Ca’ Foscari-Columbia Summer School.

More about my work
OrcID: 0000-0002-4808-6865.
My page @ St John’s College: here.
Up-to-date CV: here.

What I advocate for
Building a better word: The Vegan society
Normalizing childbirth: Free Birth Society
Normalizing breastfeeding: La Leche League
Ending body mutilations: Male & Female Circumcision